IIT Kharagpur, BHU Varanasi, Roorkee, Bombay have highest seat capacity in BTech 2017-18 admission

Mumbai: In India there are 23 Indian Institutes of Technology (IITs), the premier engineering & technology institutes. For the academic year 2017-18, the total seats available for admission under BTech programmes (4-years and 5-year dual degree programmes) stands at 10,998, which is 4% higher than last year.

Out of these total 10,998 seats, IIT Kharagpur, IIT BHU Varanasi, IIT Roorkee, and IIT Bombay represent nearly 40%  seats.  IIT Kharagpur, the oldest IIT, has the highest seat strength with 1,341 seats for AY 2017-18 under various BTech programmes. IIT BHU Varanasi has the second highest seats among all 23 IITs with 1,090 seats.


IIT Roourkee has the third highest figure with 975 seats while IIT Bombay stands fourth in terms of highest number of seats with 929 seats under all BTech programmes for AY 2017-18. The detailed list of seats capacity by each IITs is given at the bottom of the story.

The new IITs, which mainly started academic sessions in 2015 or 2016, such as  IIT Palakkad, IIT Tirupati, IIT Bhilai,  IIT Jammu,  and IIT Dharwad have each 120 seats. Meanwhile IIT Goa which has commenced operation last year has only 90 seats for under graduate engineering courses.

IIT Delhi has seat strength of 851 for AY 2017-18 under BTech programmes while IIT Kanpur has a strength of 827 seats in the same degree category.  IIT Madras has 838 seats while  IIT Guwahati has 645 student strength for undergraduate programmes. IIT ISM, Dhanbad has a total seat strength of 912.

Now the qualified candidates of JEE Advanced 2017 will have to register at the common admission and counseling system known as Joint Seat Allocation Authority (JoSAA) 2017 platform. Online registration and choice filling commences from 10 AM on 15 June 2017 to 5 PM on 26 June 2017.

The Joint Seat Allocation Authority (JoSAA) 2017 has been set up by the Ministry of Human Resources Development (MHRD) to manage and regulate the joint seat allocation for admissions to 97 institutes for the academic year 2017-18. This includes 23 IITs, 31 NITs, 23 IIITs and 20 Other-Government Funded Technical Institutes (Other-GFTIs). Admission to all the academic programs offered by these Institutes will be made through a single platform.

Seat Capacity by IITs for BTech programmes 2017-18

(Source: Seat Matrix report of JoSAA)

Name of IITs Total Seats
1 IIT Kharagpur 1341
2 IIT (BHU) Varanasi 1090
3 IIT Roorkee 975
4 IIT Bombay 929
5 IIT (ISM) Dhanbad 912
6 IIT Delhi 851
7 IIT Madras 838
8 IIT Kanpur 827
9 IIT Guwahati 645
10 IIT Bhubaneswar 350
11 IIT Hyderabad 285
12 IIT Ropar 260
13 IIT Indore 260
14 IIT Patna 225
15 IIT Gandhinagar 180
16 IIT Jodhpur 180
17 IIT Mandi 150
18 IIT Palakkad 120
19 IIT Tirupati 120
20 IIT Bhilai 120
21 IIT Jammu 120
22 IIT Dharwad 120
23 IIT Goa



Related Posts

Got Something To Say:

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *