South Asian University, New Delhi Admission Notice 2017-18 for Master Degree and PhD Programmes

New Delhi:  The South Asian University (SAU) based in New Delhi is an international university established by the governments of the eight member countries of the South Asian Association for Regional Co-operation (SAARC): Afghanistan, Bangladesh, Bhutan, India, Maldives, Nepal, Pakistan and Sri Lanka.  SAU attracts students from all member nations and its degrees are recognized by all the eight SAARC countries.

SAU has invited application from eligible candidates for admission to Master Degree and PhD programmes. The university offers Master’s and PhD (Doctoral) level programmes in Economics, Computer Science, Biotechnology, Applied Mathematics, Sociology, International Relations and Legal Studies. The deadline for receiving application forms is 25 March 2017. Entrance Test for both Master degree and PhD courses will be conducted simultaneously throughout the SAARC region on 9 April 2017.


The entrance test for both master and PhD programmes will be held in 12 cities in India: Bangalore, Chandigarh, Chennai, Guwahati, Hyderabad, Jaipur, Kolkata, Lucknow, Mumbai, New Delhi, Patna and Thiruvananthapuram.  In the foreign countries, the test will be held in Kabul (Afghanistan), Chittagong and Dhaka (Bangladesh), Thimphu (Bhutan),  Male (Maldives),  Kathmandu (Nepal),  Karachi and Lahore (Pakistan),  and Colombo (Sri Lanka).

Eligibility Conditions:  For exact eligibility conditions for both Master level and PhD Programmes,  the interested candidates should refer the admission page of the official website of the SAU. .

As per the university’s admission notification, applicants who have not completed their Master’s level course and are yet to appear for their last year/semester exam may also take the Entrance Test. However, their admission will be subject to their fulfilling the minimum eligibility criteria of aggregate percentage of marks at the Master’s level besides clearing the Entrance Test. The admission notification mentioned that such candidates will not have any claim to admission if their results are not declared and their mark sheets are not available latest by 31 July 2017, which is the last date for admissions.

List of Courses with no of seats offered for admission to PhD (2017-18)

PhD in Economics (4)

PhD in Computer Science (4)

PhD in Applied Mathematics (4)

PhD in Legal Studies (4)

PhD in Biotechnology (4)

PhD in International Relations (4)

PhD in Sociology (4)

For Master Level programmes, all above faculties (mentioned in the PhD progarmmes) are available and each department has 30 seats.

How to Apply: The admission notification mentioned that applications for admission will be accepted only online and payment must be made by credit/debit cards or net banking. Those who cannot pay the application fee online still need to fill and submit the online application form. They can then courier a bank draft for US$ 10 or INR 670/- drawn in favour of “ South Asian University” payable at New Delhi to the Deputy Registrar Admissions, South Asian University, Akbar Bhawan, Chanakyapuri, New Delhi 110021, India.

The South Asian University currently functions from its Akbar Bhawan campus in Chanakyapuri, New Delhi. This campus will move to its 100 acre campus in Maidan Garhi, South Delhi, which is expected to be ready by the year 2018.

For more details on the eligibility conditions, how to apply and other details, interested candidates should visit the admission page of the official website of the SAU: . 

The university has informed that the deadline for receiving application forms is 25 March 2017.  The classes for these programmes will begin from 26 July 2017.


Related Posts

Got Something To Say:

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *