17th Convocation to be held at IIT Roorkee on 23 & 24 Sept; Degrees will be awarded to 2153 students this year

Roorkee, 22 September 2017:  Indian Institute of Technology Roorkee (IIT Roorkee) will be celebrating its 17th Annual Convocation on 23rd & 24th September 2017. This year, for the first time, the convocations will be held separately for Under-Graduate and Post-Graduate students. Dr. A. S. Kiran Kumar, Chairman, Indian Space Research Organisation (ISRO) and Prof. Surendra Prasad, Chairman of the National Board of Accreditation (NBA) and the leader of the NIRF initiative will be gracing the occasion as chief guests.  Prof. A.K. Chaturvedi, Director, IIT Roorkee will be presiding over the function.

A total of 2,153 degrees will be awarded this year. 861 B. Tech, 584 M. Tech, 110 M.Sc., 126 Integrated Dual-Degrees, 60 Integrated M. Tech, 59 Integrated M.Sc., 57 MBA, 34 B. Arch, 18 M. Arch, 15 M.U.R.P, 2 MCA and 227 PhD degrees will be handed out to students.


Speaking about the convocation Prof. A. K. Chaturvedi, Director, IIT Roorkee, said, “Convocation is an important occasion for an educational institution when we charge the graduating students with a pledge to dedicate themselves to the profession they choose and to the cause of human development. We are happy to present degrees to 2153 students this year. These students are the real stars and I would like to wish them the very best in their future endeavours as professionals, entrepreneurs and researchers.

Data on the Graduating Students is given below:

S. No Program No. of students
awarded degrees
1 Bachelor of Architecture 34
2 Bachelor of Technology 861
3 Integrated Master of Science 59
4 Integrated Master of Technology 60
5 Integrated Dual-Degree 126
6 Master of Architecture 18
7 Master of Urban and Rural Planning 15
8 Master of Technology 584
9 Master of Science 110
10 Master of Computer Applications 2
11 Master of Business Administration 57
12 PhD 227
  Total 2153

Given below is the list of medal winners:

S. No

Name of the Prize

Name of the Student

President’s Gold Medal Chetanya Rastogi, B.Tech. Electrical Engineering.
Director’s Gold Medal Sopan Khosala, B.Tech., CSE
The President of India, Dr. Shankar Dayal Sharma Gold Medal Dhiraj Indana, B.Tech. Mechanical Engg.
Dr. Jai Krishna Gold Medal Shivam Dimri, B.Tech. Chemical Engg.

For the first time, away from conventional robes, the students will be dressed in white kurta, black trousers, black shoes with angvastra around their neck. The angvastra will have a specific color as per the degree/programme. These are:

Degree Angavastra Colour
PhD degree Scarlet
M.Tech Blue
M.Sc. Greenish Grey
MBA Red Brown
B. Tech/ Int. / IDD / IMS Light Blue
B.Arch. Yellow


Related Posts

Got Something To Say:

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *