Annual Convocation of IIT Roorkee: 2026 students will be awarded degrees this year

Roorkee: The Annual Convocation of the Indian Institute of Technology Roorkee (IIT Roorkee) was held on 6th and 7th October. Prof Subra Suresh, President of the Nanyang Technological University, Singapore was the Chief Guest on the 6th and Shri. R.C. Bhargava, Chairman of Maruti Suzuki India Ltd, was the Chief Guest on 7th October.

Undergraduate students received their degrees on 6th October. Masters and PhD students received their degrees on 7th October. A total of 2,026 degrees were awarded out of which 1077 (797 Male and 280 Female) Masters and PhD students received their degrees today. A large number of parents attended the function.


In his welcome address, Prof. A. K. Chaturvedi, Director, IIT Roorkee, highlighted the improvement in the Institute’s rank in all the major rankings. “In the Global Times Higher education rankings, IIT Roorkee moved from the 500-600 band to 400-500 band. Our rank improved by 50 positions in the QS rankings. Most significantly, IIT Roorkee was ranked first among the IITs in terms of the number of citations per faculty.”

Another key initiative was the number of startups associated with TIDES reaching 22, of which 16 were offered incubation. To avail better access of the NCR ecosystem, TIDES started an extension center in Greater Noida.”

Addressing the students, the Chief Guest, Shri RC Bhargava, Chairman, Maruti Suzuki India Ltd spoke about manufacturing in India and the role of innovation by technologists. He also highlighted the role of partnerships and developing technologies to enable this.

“Besides building trust with Government and the people, industrial leaders also have to develop technology that would enable Indian industry to have the competitive edge in the future.

All of you who are passing out from this great Institute today have the opportunity to take part in this nation building activity. I would urge you to use your skills and knowledge and work in the manufacturing sector.”

Data on the Graduating Students is as follows:

  1. No Program No. of students awarded degrees

1 Bachelor of Architecture 30

2 Bachelor of Technology 792

3 Integrated Master of Science 46

4 Integrated Master of Technology 60

5 Integrated Dual-Degree 21

6 Master of Architecture 17

7 PG Diploma 3

8 Master of Urban and Rural Planning 13

9 Master of Technology 535

10 Master of Science 135

11 Master of Business Administration 82

12 PhD 292

Total 2026

For the first time, IIT Roorkee awarded gold medals to toppers of PG courses. Overall, 23 gold medals were given to Masters students and 15 Gold medals were given to UG students. The prestigious President Gold medal for obtaining highest CGPA amongst graduating UG students was awarded to Ayush Chauhan of B Tech, Electronics and Communication Engineering for obtaining 9.871 CGPA.

The Director’s Gold Medal for best all round performance was given to Mulchandani Vishal Haresh of Integrated M Tech, Geophysical Technology.  The Dr. Shankar Dayal Sharma Gold Medal for excellence in academics and significant contribution in the field of social service was given to Saksham Agrawal of B Tech, Metallurgical & Materials Engineering. The Dr. Jai Krishna Gold Medal for excellence in academics and significant contribution in the field of youth leadership was awarded to Sharanpreet Singh of B Tech, Computer Science & Engineering.

List of medal winners:

  1. No Name of the Prize Name of the Student
  2.  President’s Gold Medal -Ayush Chauhan, B Tech, Electronics & Communication Engineering
  3.  Director’s Gold Medal -Mulchandani Vishal Haresh, Integrated M Tech, Geophysical Technology
  4. Dr Jai Krishna Gold Medal -Sharanpreet Singh, B Tech, CSE
  5. Dr Shankar Dayal Sharma Gold Medal – Saksham Agrawal, B Tech, Metallurgical and Materials Engineering
  1. – Institute Silver Medal – Suraj Gupta, B Tech, CSE
  2. Institute Bronze Medal – Aditya Prakash, B Tech, Electrical Engineering

Keeping with tradition, female students wore sarees (off-white with gold) and male students were dressed in off-white kurta-pyjama with angvastra around their neck. The colors of the angvastras were according to the degree/programme:

Degree  Angavastra Colour

PhD  – Scarlet Red

MTechNavy Blue

M Sc – Greenish Green

MBARed Brown

B Tech/ IDD / IMS – Light Blue

B ArchYellow

Related Posts

Got Something To Say:

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *