135 students selected to pursue research under Prime Minister’s Research Fellowship (PMRF) Scheme during current year

New Delhi, 06 August 2018:  A total of 135 students have been selected in the Prime Minister’s Research Fellowship (PMRF) Scheme in 2018-19, including 37 from IITs, 84 from NITs, 5 from IIITs, 4 from IISERs, 3 from IIEST Shibpur and 2 from IISc Bangalore.

Details of institutes in which they will pursue research are as under:


Sl No.               Institute                         No. of PMRFs

  1. Indian Institute of Science, Bangalore – 43
  2. Indian Institute of Technology Bombay – 24
  3. Indian Institute of Technology Delhi – 20
  4. Indian Institute of Technology Madras – 17
  5. Indian Institute of Technology Kharagpur -13
  6. Indian Institute of Technology Kanpur – 10
  7. Indian Institute of Technology Roorkee – 4
  8. Indian Institute of Technology Guwahati – 2
  9. Indian Institute of Technology Hyderabad – 1
  10. Indian Institute of Technology Gandhinagar – 1

                       Total  135

The Prime Minister’s Research Fellowship (PMRF) scheme is currently open for eligible students from IITs, NITs, IIITs, IISERs and IISc Bangalore. However, Government is open to suggestions to make the scheme more inclusive. The National

Coordination Committee of PMRF is free to adopt appropriate methods of selection and screening of candidates for successful implementation of the scheme.

This information was given by the Minister of State (HRD), Dr. Satya Pal Singh today in a written reply to a Lok Sabha question.

The Prime Minister’s Research Fellowship (PMRF) scheme is aimed at attracting the talent pool of the country to doctoral (Ph.D.) programs of Indian Institutes of Technology (IITs) and Indian Institute of Science (IISc) for carrying out research in cutting edge science and technology domains, with focus on national priorities.

Under the PMRF scheme, students who have completed, or are pursuing, the final year of four year undergraduate or five year integrated MTech or five year integrated MSc or five year undergraduate-postgraduate dual degree programs in Science and Technology streams from IIEST/IISc/IITs/NITs/IISERs and centrally funded IIITs are eligible for admission to full time PhD programme in the IITs & IISc provided they fulfil prescribed eligibility criteria and finally get selected after shortlisting/written test/interview. For each participating IIT and IISc the Ph.D admissions under the PMRF scheme will be supernumerary.

Related Posts

Got Something To Say:

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *