You are here:  Home  >  #Alert  >  Current Article

Tezpur University Admission notification for 2017-18 including BTech, PG, PhD Programmes

By   /  March 21, 2017  /  Comments Off on Tezpur University Admission notification for 2017-18 including BTech, PG, PhD Programmes

    Print       Email

Tezpur: Tezpur University, a central university based in Tezpur Assam, has invited online applications for PhD programmes for Autumn Semester 2017.  The online application window has opened since 15 March 2017. The closing date for submission of online application is 30 April 2017.

The PhD programmes are available in the following subjects:  Business Administration, Chemical Sciences, Civil Engineering, Computer Science & Engineering, Cultural Studies, Electronics & Communication Engineering, Energy, Environmental Science, English and Foreign Languages, Education, Food Engineering & Technology, Hindi, Mathematical Sciences, Mechanical Engineering, Molecular Biology & Biotechnology, Mass Communication and Journalism, Physics and Sociology.

Selection Procedure: Candidates will be selected on the basis of the performance in the online test and personal interview. The online University entrance examination will be conducted in designated examination centres; however, Personal Interview (PI) will be conducted in the respective Departments.  The merit list prepared based on the entrance examination conducted in Autumn Semester, 2017 will be valid for the admission in both Autumn Semester, 2017 and Spring Semester, 2018.

For eligibility criteria, how to apply and other details, the interested candidates should visit Admission page of Tezpur University.

The application fee is Rs 700 per candidates (Rs. 350/- for SC, ST and PWD candidates).


Also admission to BTech, PG, Integrated Programmes are also available in the university.

In addition to PhD programmes, the University has also invited from eligible candidates for admission to the following programmes of studies for the academic year 2017-18:

Category A: Admission based on online University Entrance Examinations

Programmes: (i) Integrated BA BEd (Major in English), Integrated BScBEd (Major in Chemistry/ Physics/ Mathematics), (ii) Integrated MA in English, Integrated MSc in Physics/ Chemistry/ Mathematics/ Bioscience and Bioinformatics, (iii)Integrated M. Com. (iv) MCA, (v) M. A. in English, Linguistics & Language Technology, Linguistics and Endangered Languages, Cultural Studies, Sociology, Mass Communication and Journalism, Communication for Development, Hindi, Social Works, and Education (vi) M.Sc. in Mathematics, Chemistry, Physics, Nanoscience & Technology, Environmental Science, Molecular Biology and Biotechnology, (vii) M.Tech. in Information Technology, Food Engineering & Technology, Electronics Design & Technology, Bioelectronics, Energy Technology, Polymer Science & Technology, and Mechanical Engineering  (viii) M.Com. (ix) Master of Tourism and Travel Management (MTTM) (x) PG Diploma in Translation (Hindi), Women Studies, Child Rights and Governance (xi) B.Voc. in Food processing, Renewable Energy Management. (xii) B.Ed. (xiii) Certificate in Chinese.

Category B: Admission based on All India Ranking (AIR) of  JEE (Main)

Programmes: B.Tech. in (i) Mechanical Engineering, (ii) Civil Engineering, (iii) Electronics and Communication Engineering, (iv)Electrical Engineering (v)Computer Science & Engineering, (vi) Food Engineering & Technology. Candidates will be selected for admission on the basis of performance in the JEE (Main) to be conducted by the CBSE on 2nd April, 2017 (Pen and paper based) and 8th & 9th April, 2017 (Computer based) (for details please visit JEE website: www.jeemain.nic.in).  Approximately 60% of the total seats will be filled up by the candidates of NE states. Candidates of NE states may apply against the seats reserved for the North East (NE) states for which the candidates will be required to produce Permanent Residence certificate (PRC) issued by the competent authority of any NE state. Counseling of the shortlisted candidates will be held at Tezpur University. Admission to the remaining seats will be made through the Central Counseling conducted by the Central Seat Allocation Board (CSAB). For admission through Central Counseling no application is required to be submitted.

Category C: Direct Admission: (i) Candidates from NE states securing any of the top 10 positions in the Higher Secondary Board/Council Examinations of NE State with an aggregate marks of 80% or more will be directly admitted to the Integrated M.Sc. (Physics/ Mathematics/Chemistry/ Bioscience and Bioinformatics), Integrated MA in English, Integrated B.Sc.B.Ed./B.A.B.Ed, Integrated M.Com programme. (ii) Candidates from NE states securing any of the top 5 positions in the Higher Secondary Board/Council Examinations of any NE state with an aggregate marks of 85% or more will be directly admitted to B. Tech. programme. Such candidates will apply in the prescribed application form along with their rank certificates after declaration of their results. Candidates passed out from CBSE will not be eligible for the direct admission. (iii) A certain number of candidates with valid GATE score will be admitted directly to the MTech programme.

The last date for all these programmes (except BTech) is 30 April 2017. The closing date for submission of online programme for BTech programme is 08 May 2017.

    Print       Email

You might also like...

Nurturing Future Leadership Programme: IIM Sambalpur Conducts Comprehensive Training for HEI Faculties

Read More →