You are here:  Home  >  #Alert  >  Current Article

Thirty one students receive Dr APJ Abdul Kalam IGNITE 2016 Award

By   /  November 7, 2016  /  Comments Off on Thirty one students receive Dr APJ Abdul Kalam IGNITE 2016 Award

    Print       Email

New Delhi: The winners of the Dr APJ Abdul Kalam IGNITE 2016 Competition, 31 students, received their awards from President Mr Pranab Mukherjee in New Delhi, today. This year, a total of 31 students have been awarded for their ideas/innovations . Overall, 55,089 submissions of students from 458 districts of all the states & Union Territories of India were received during the IGNITE 16 competition, which ran from September 1, 2015 to August 31, 2016.

Dr. APJ Abdul Kalam IGNITE 2016 competition is a national competition of original technological ideas and innovations by children up to class 12 or those out of school up to the age of 17 years. it is organized by National Innovation Foundation(NIF) every year to promote creativity and originality among children. The awards of IGNITE competition are announced every year on October 15th, Dr APJ Abdul Kalam’s birthday, which is celebrated as the Children’s Creativity and Innovation Day by NIF.

An exhibition showcasing award winning ideas has been put up at the venue. NIF will file patents in all applicable cases in the name of the students and will also engage designers/fabricators to develop prototypes of the students’ ideas.

Speaking on the occasion, the Union Minister for Science & Technology and Earth Sciences, Dr. Harsh Vardhan, congratulated all the winners and said he was really amazed by the range of creativity expressed by these young minds. Addressing the young winners, Dr. Harsh Vardhan, said  “they have a duty not to adapt to the problems our society is facing but transcend them and to help India become a creative, compassionate and collaborative society.”.

NIF, an autonomous body of the Department of Science and Technology, Government of India, has been actively engaged in promoting creativity and innovation in our society with active support of Honey Bee Network. NIF has taken major initiatives to serve the knowledge-rich but economically poor people of the country.

Dr APJ Abdul Kalam IGNITE Award is an effort to focus primarily on the creativity of the children and promote inclusive and compassionate thinking among them.

National Innovation Foundation-India Dr. APJ Abdul Kalam IGNITE 2016 Awards List

1 Gayatri Somasekhar, Pranav Somasekhar (Emergency light in two whellers)

2 Sheeren Sheikh (Tiffin box that reminds to wash hands)

3 Arijita B Patra,  (Monitoring device to stop mishap in a vehicle)

4 Roshan Sodi  (EVM messaging voting data from booth to control room)

5 Muskan Javalkar (Air cooler which throws air in all directions)

6 Indu Manikpuri (Septic tank pressure record scale)

7 S.Vanchinathan (Manual hand lever based tapioca plant uprooter)

8 M. Devi (Device that indicates state of cleanliness of vessel)

9 Dhanurjaya Dehury (Pedal operated vegetable cutting machine)

10 Sebati Kutruka (Machine to dig out sweet potato)

11 Sumit Biswas (Buzzer for protecting turtle’s egg at beaches)

12 Sayan Sain  (Alarm system in non-transparent doors)

13 Dev Desai & Munni Kumari (Secured door closing in cars)

14 Manodnya Shripad Vaidya (Eco-kite)

15 Parth Bansal (Innovative utility stick for Parkinson’s patient)

16 Jahnvi Rupani (Low cost homemade cockroach killing gel)

17 Adyasha Das & Sagar Kumar  (System in water supply line which stops flow of water if any tap remained open or got damaged)

18 Himanshu Rateria  (Medicine alarm on T.V for old aged)

19 Priyanka Panda (Message for rider of vehicle who unnecessarily waste fuel)

20 Subhra Suchismita Patel (Shoes with drillers / hole diggers for farmers)

21 Joseph John (Wheel chair that helps in entering the car without any strain and modified walker)0

22 Zufa Iqbal (Namda rolling machine)

23 Gulshan Kumar  (Device to adjust right intensity of light for study)

24 Govind K Sharma (Auto blanket covering mechanism for old aged, physically challenged and patients)

25 Lahar Jyoti Das (Paan delivery and processing machine)

26 Madhur Gupta (Secured currency notes)

27 Bilash Dutta (A game for attracting tourists)

28 Sayan Chaudhary (Device for data management to enhance cellular efficiency in rural areas)


    Print       Email

You might also like...

Opportunities for PhD Holders as IIIT Allahabad Recruiting Assistant Professors

IIIT Allahabad Opens PhD Admission July 2024 with Institute Scholarship

Read More →