18 Deemed to be Universities accredited with A grade, 20 with grade B and 01 with grade C

New Delhi: Following the directions of the Supreme Court, the National Assessment and Accreditation Council (NAAC), Bangalore accredited 39 out of 41 existing institutions Deemed to be Universities which were placed in category ‘C’ by the Tandon Committee constituted by the Ministry of HRD. Out of these, 18 were accredited with ‘A’ grade, 20 with grade ‘B’ and 01 with grade ‘C’.

The Minister of State (HRD), Dr. Mahendra Nath Pandey today (15 December 2016)in a written reply to a Rajya Sabha question informed that the various parameters adopted by Tandon Committee to evaluate Deemed to be Universities:


Consideration of the idea of a university

Whether all their present academic activities and programmes could have been carried out without being a deemed to be university; how the status of deemed to be university became a stimulus for better performance

Conformity to the provisions of the UGC Act and the UGC Guidelines for the recognition of an institution as deemed to be university

 Aspects of governance

 Quality of and innovations in teaching-learning process

Research output and its impact (research publications, books, monographs, patents, etc.)

 Doctoral and other research degree programme

Faculty resource

Admission processes and award of degrees

Criteria used by NAAC for assessment of Institutions deemed to be universities are as followed:

Curricular Aspects

Teaching-Learning and Evaluation

Research, Consultancy and Extension

Infrastructure and Learning Resources

Student Support and Progression

Governance, Leadership and Management

Innovations and Best Practices


Related Posts

Got Something To Say:

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *