You are here:  Home  >  #Alert  >  Current Article

PhD Admissions at a glance in 10 central universities via CUCET 2017 ! Apply

By   /  March 31, 2017  /  Comments Off on PhD Admissions at a glance in 10 central universities via CUCET 2017 ! Apply

    Print       Email

Exclusive by Rudra Narayan Sahoo, New Delhi:  The admission momentum for the upcoming session 2017-18 has already started in India. Central Universities Common Entrance Test (CUCET) 2017, is a pan India test conducted by a consortium of 10 Central Universities, for selecting students in various programmes including UG, PG, PhD and PhD Diploma in these 10 participating universities. CUCET 2017 will be held on 17 & 18 May 2017 in 76 centres across India.  The online application window will close on 14 April 2017.

These 10 central universities will also select PhD candidates for the academic session 2017-18 through CUCET 2017-18. Hence, students aspiring do pursue doctoral degree programmes in these CUs will have to apply via CUCET 2017. SkillOutlook presents PhD programmes details offered by each participating CUs. Hence, interested candidates can track and get the update on the PhD programs (streams/disciplines) offered by these CUs. These ten CUs are central universities of Haryana, Jammu, Jharkhand, Karnataka, Kashmir, Tamil Nadu, Punjab, South Bihar, Rajasthan and Kerala.

Central University of Haryana:  As per the Information Brochure of Central University of Haryana (CUH), there are 57 seats available for PhD programmes in various streams. PhD offered by CUH in the following Disciplines:  Economics, English, Hindi, Management. Political Science, Microbiology, Nutrition Biology, Biotechnology, Commerce, Law, Statistics, Chemistry, and Education.  For eligibility conditions on PhD programmes, interested candidates should refer the Information Brochure of CUH, uploaded on the official website of CUCET 2017: https://www.cucet2017.co.in 

Central University of Jammu: Central University of Jammu offers doctoral programmes in 10 subjects with total seats of 36 (for PhD). These research streams are as followed:  Economics, Education, Mathematics, National Security Studies, Public Policy and Public Administration, Environmental Sciences, Computer Science & IT, Mass Communication & New Media, Social Work, English

Central University of Jharkhand:  Central University of Jharkhand offers PhD programmes in various subjects including applied sciences, Language, Humanities & Social Sciences and Nanotechnology.  Here total intake capacity for PhD programmes for AY 2017-18 is 57. The exact disciplines in which PhD programmes are offered are as followed:  Applied Physics, Applied Chemistry, Applied Mathematics, Life Sciences, Environmental Sciences, Mass Communication, Indigenous Culture Studies, Tibetan Language, Tribal Folklore, Language & Literature, Human Rights & Conflict Management, Business Administration, Humanities & Social Sciences, Nanotechnology, Water Engineering & Management, Energy Engineering, Land Resource Management, Performing Arts, and International Relations.

Central University of Karnataka: Central University of Karnataka offers PhD programmes for AY 2017-18 are as followed: Hindi, Kannada, Classical Kannada, Economics, Management, Psychology, Commerce, Social Work, Physics, Chemistry, Geography, Geology, History, Electronics & Communication Engineering, and Electrical Engineering.

Central University of Kashmir: Central University of Kashmir offers the following research programs in following streams: Integrated MPhil/Phd Education, Integrated MPhil/Phd Mathematics, Integrated MPhil/Phd Management Studies, Integrated MPhil/Phd Urdu, Phd in Law.

Central University of Kerala:  The total intake capacity under doctoral programmes in Central University of Kerala for AY 2017-18 is 108.  The PhD programmes are offered by  the university in the following disciplines: Economics, English, Hindi & Comparative Literature, International Relations & Politics, Malayalam, Public Administration & Policy Studies, Social Work, Education, Biochemistry & Molecular Biology, Computer Science, Environmental Science, Genomic Science, Geology, Mathematics, Plant Science, Law, Public Health, and Physics.

Central University of Punjab:  Central University of Punjab offers PhD programmes in 18 centres. These centres are as followed: Centre for Pharmaceutical Sciences and Natural Products, Centre for Environmental Science and Technology, Centre for Law, Centre for Education, Centre for Computational Sciences, Centre for Economic Studies, Centre for Human Genetics and Molecular Medicine, Centre for Physical Sciences, Centre for Languages and Comparative Literature, Centre for Chemical Sciences, Centre for Animal Sciences, Centre for Plant Sciences, Centre for Biochemistry & Microbial Sciences, Centre for Mathematics & Statistics, Centre for Geography & Geology, Centre for Sociology, Centre for South and Central Asian Studies (including Historical Studies), and Centre for Computer Science & Technology.

Central University of Rajasthan: Central University of Rajasthan offers doctoral degree programmes in various disciplines with total intake capacity of 74 seats.  The various streams available for PhD admission are as given: Architecture, Public Policy, Law, and Governance, Statistics, Computer Science, Culture and Media Studies, Economics, English, Microbiology, Physics, Biochemistry, Biotechnology, Mathematics, Chemistry, Commerce, Environmental Science, Atmospheric Science, Pharmacy, and Computer Science & Engineering.

Central University of South Bihar: Central University of South Bihar has not mentioned in its Information Brochure that any PhD programme is offered  by the University for 2017-18. Admissions are open for UG and PG programmes in the University via CUCET 2017.          

Central University of Tamil Nadu: Central University of Tamil Nadu offers PhD programmes in 12 subjects. These are as followed: Economics, Education, English, Hindi, Social Work, Tamil, Chemistry, Life Sciences, Mathematics, Physics, Computer Science, and Materials Science.

Central University of Tamil Nadu  has clarified that all those candidates who have cleared National Level Examinations i.e. UGC-CSIR JRF/ NET / GATE or equivalent and applying for admission into M.Phil / PhD programmes will have to apply through CUCET 2017 online portal and they will be exempted from CUCET 2017 Entrance Exam. However, they will have to appear for INTERVIEW. ONLY shortlisted candidates will be called for Interview. Some of the Departments may conduct Written test at the time of interview, if required.

For admission details, eligibility criteria and other details, interested candidates should refer the Information Brochure of each participating CUs uploaded on the official website of CUCET-2017.


    Print       Email

You might also like...

IIMA welcomes 61st Batch of PGP and 25th Batch of PGP-FABM students

Read More →