You are here:  Home  >  #Top News  >  Current Article

IIT Jodhpur organizes 37th National Symposium on Plasma Science & Technology

By   /  December 13, 2022  /  Comments Off on IIT Jodhpur organizes 37th National Symposium on Plasma Science & Technology

    Print       Email

JODHPUR : The 37th National Symposium on Plasma Science & Technology (PLASMA-2022) is organized by the Department of Physics, Indian Institute of Technology Jodhpur in association with the Plasma Science Society of India (PSSI) from 12th-14th December 2022. The aim is to motivate and provide adequate exposure to both young and senior researchers working in various areas of plasma science and technology. The symposium includes keynote address, plenary talks, invited talks by eminent scientists along with oral and poster presentations by the research scholars and other participants. The symposium will provide a forum for young researchers in the area of Plasma Science & Technology to interact with eminent plasma scientists from India and present their research work. Participation is expected from various R&D Labs of DAE, CSIR, DRDO, ISRO, DST, DEIT, and academic institutes like IITs, Central Universities, NITs, various engineering colleges, etc.

It is well-known that over the last few decades, the scenario of plasma science and technology in general and controlled thermonuclear fusion in particular has undergone a sea change. Significant steps have been taken towards building nuclear fusion reactors for meeting the ever-growing clean energy requirements –maintaining harmony with the life sustaining natural processes. Besides gaining insight into the basic plasma processes in laboratories, space and astrophysical plasmas, industrial applications of plasma have brought a veritable revolution in the advancement of the micro-electronics, new materials, environmental and energy technologies contributing to the improvement of quality of life. Scientists, technologists and engineers of our country are pursuing research and development on various aspects of plasma science and technology in the frontier areas. These include Fusion research, Laboratory plasma research, Defence research, Space research, Material science, Food science, Health, Agriculture, etc.

The theme of the PLASMA-2022 is Plasma Technologies for Sustainable Development. We are in the era of the 21st Century and modern technologies have helped in ease of doing things. Despite our continued efforts, FEAR is all around. The growing population and meeting the resources for humankind in a sustainable manner is the key challenge. The scarcity of foods, increasing health risks, depletion of modern energy fuels, environmental damage due to high carbon emission, etc. are some of the concerns. It is a firm belief that cutting-edge plasma technologies can provide solutions for FEAR (i.e., Food/Health, Energy & Agriculture Retrievals). The scope of the symposium includes front-line research in basic plasma physics as well as significant advances in plasma technology. Main topics covered in Plasma-2022 are: Nuclear Fusion & Technology, Industrial Plasma Applications, Laser Plasma, Plasma Processing, Space & Astrophysical Plasma, Basic Plasma, Cross-disciplinary, Exotic Plasma (Includes Dusty Plasma), Plasma Diagnostics, Pulsed Power, Theory and Simulations in Plasma.

The organizers have received an overwhelming response for these three days symposium by having prospective National delegates including renowned scientists, technologists, young researchers and university faculties. The symposium comprises 12 sessions of which there are 9 oral sessions and three poster sessions. Overall, there are around 490 presentations including 1 keynote address, 1 plenary talk, 16 invited talks, 27 oral talks, 5-Buti Young Scientist Award Presentations, 4 Distinguished Award Presentations of PSSI as well as 440 poster presentations. More than 400 research scholars and scientists are expected to participate in this event. Various awards will be given for the best posters and oral presentations under various categories

The gamut of top scientist comprises:

  • Chief-guest: Dr. R. Chidambaram, Former Chairman, Atomic Energy Commission & Principal Scientific Advisor to the Govt. of India
  • Guest-of-honour: Prof. Bimla Buti, Former Sr. Professor, PRL, Ahmedabad & President Buti Foundation
  • Guest-of-honour: Prof. Y. C. Saxena, Former Sr. Professor and Advisor ITER-India, IPR, Gandhinagar
  • Welcome Address:  Prof. Santanu Chaudhury, Director, IIT Jodhpur
  • Keynote Address: Prof. Avinash Khare, Vice-Chancellor, SCU, Sikkim
  • Dr. Arun Sarma, DG, NECTAR, Delhi
  • Prof. Shishir Deshpande, IPR, Gandhinagar
  • Prof. Amita Das, IIT Delhi
  • Prof. Sudip Sengupta, IPR Gandhinagar
  • Prof. Subroto Mukherjee, Ex-Head, FCIPT-IPR Gandhinagar
  • Dr. Rohit Shukla, BARC, Vizag
  • Prof. Nareshpal Singh Saini, GNDU, Amritsar &   President PSSI
  • Prof. Dibyendu Chakrabarty, PRL, Ahmedabad
  • Dr. Piyali Chatterjee, IIA, Bengaluru
  • Dr. P. K. Atrey, IPR Gandhinagar
  • Dr. Amit D. Lad TIFR Mumbai
  • Dr J. A. Chakera, RRCAT Indore

And many more.

    Print       Email

You might also like...

EPSI Universities Ranking 2024: IISC Bangalore and IIM Ahmedabad are ranked #1 in their respective categories.

Read More →