You are here:  Home  >  #Top News  >  Current Article

NEET-UG to be conducted in 8 languages from Academic Year 2017-18

By   /  December 21, 2016  /  Comments Off on NEET-UG to be conducted in 8 languages from Academic Year 2017-18

    Print       Email

New Delhi: Under the directions of the Union Minister for Health & Family Welfare, Mr J P Nadda, after rigorous and extensive consultations with State Governments about their examination pattern and other related aspects, it has been decided that the National Eligibility cum Entrance Test (NEET-UG) from Academic Year 2017-18 will be conducted in following eight languages:  Hindi, English, Gujarati, Marathi, Bengali, Assamese, Telugu and Tamil.

NEET-UG, a pan India entrance exam, is conducted for admission to MBBS/BDS courses in Medical/Dental Colleges run with the approval of Medical Council of India/Dental Council of India under the Union Ministry of Health and Family Welfare, Government of India.

In addition to this, the candidate qualifying NEET will be eligible for All India quota and other quotas under the State governments/Institutes irrespective of the medium in which exam is taken by the candidate, subject to other eligibility criteria.

This is in continuation with the meeting of Union Health Minister Mr J P Nadda with the Health Ministers and Health Secretaries/representatives of 18 States/UTs in May this year towards implementation of NEET across States. The Joint Secretary – Medical Education Mr. A.K Singhal stated ‘the collaborative efforts of Central Health Ministry with the State health Ministries have lead to this decision so as to bring parity for the students who have taken the State Board exams’.

NEET and its implementation in regional languages is the outcome of the government’s commitment of bringing about transparency in medical education and removing malpractices.


    Print       Email

You might also like...

Fuji Electric India Earns Great Place to Work Certification for the Second Consecutive Year

Read More →